AUSTIN KLEON KNOWS IT!

Wednesday, 1st of August 2012, 1:25 AM

I know I said I’ll have atleast a couple of new updates on here tonight but I lied. I have been working on getting them up. But there’s alot of editing that needs to be done. My brain thinks non-linearly as do yours, I assume. So its a bit chaotic in there. And it’s quite hard for me to dress my thoughts into words that fit.

So I thought that I would share something that Austin Kleon said. “Fake it ’til you make it.’

Today, we didn’t just have a normal studio session. Today was when Stephen had staged an ‘intervention’, (I’d like to call it an intervention, because it was actually that for me). At first I thought it was a bad idea and that I would struggle. Personally, group work scares me. Just internal personal issues I deal with, nothing big, promise. Im not confident with how much I can contribute to the group. I always feel a bit inadequate. I’m almost always too happy chugging alone rather than collaborating and sharing thoughts with others. It’s not so much as I cant share any of my ideas with anyone at all. Because I do. I share alot. But what I mean is technology wise etc., I am not as equipped with knowledge as some students are. Because I go by this motto, that if I have an idea that is almost ‘impossible’, I can always research how to bring it to life. I’m still learning. Say Im a sponge- a sponge absorbs liquid, am I right? Well, take this scenario and let it be a metaphor of where I stand, a sponge that has just literally JUST been dropped into the sink.

Anyway, Stephen staged an intervention. And I was uncomfortable with it at first. But it went well. He made a point- our work rate was really slow and we do need to get more experiments in. By the second task which was more specific to our current project: Material Reuse, I was forced to choose something else to make with my chosen material (aluminium venetian blinds), other than a ‘candle holder’. I mentally scanned down the list of what else apart from the candle holder was I opting to make and decided on a side table that would sit by the couch.  I made about 4 to 5 really quick prototypes out of cardboard (using tape to join it), which I was really pleased with. During that, I thought of the properties of the venetian blinds and how it existed and worked naturally and played with those facts.

(Photos of my prototyping will be posted in another post)

I was thankful for this intervention, because it made me realize that:

  1. It helps to strip the material down to its basic elements.
  2. Think sculpturally. The characteristics it creates- the linear repetition, or whether its dynamic etc.
  3. All I know is that, I had my initial idea of a candle holder at the back of my head during the whole time, and had always related it back how it would look and function like if it was indeed a candle holder, as it was initially thought out to be a side table. And I guess that’s one of the SCAMPER abbrevs. And I should think like this more.

So, back to Austin Kleon and his genius mind:

Image

I love this phrase. There’s two ways to read it: Fake it ‘til you make it, as in, fake it until you’re successful, until everybody sees you the way you want, etc. Or, fake it til’ you make it, as in, pretend to be making something until you actually make something. I love that idea.- Austin Kleon

http://www.austinkleon.com/2011/03/30/how-to-steal-like-an-artist-and-9-other-things-nobody-told-me/

Half of the time during that second task and the first, I wasn’t entirely sure about what I was making. All I knew was that I had to get something done because:

  1. There was a time limit. And
  2. It would hurt my pride and ego if I came up with nothing and the rest of the class made something.

So the things that I got out of that was that I just gotta start making and making and making. Pretend. And not think about it too much. It’s just plain prototyping. See if I can make anything cool with the materials, if I bend it this way and that. Just really stripping the material down to its basic elements. What are its properties? How can I work with that?

Leave a Reply

