Aside

Reflecting upon my personal goals:

1. To manage my time effectively.  Account for everything ie, allocate longer gaps in between each tasks to allow for unplanned and unseen obstacles. Strictly follow the outlined schedule from the beginning- to achieve this weekly check-ins should be done; all weekly goals should be met in order for the outlined schedule to play out as planned.

I have achieved this goal fully. I did not experience a mad rush in the end at all. Though we still have a bit to work on together after the presentations which had contradicted our plans not to, it is alright as opposed to rushing the work.

2. To enhance my visual communication skills– to improve my drawing skills so that they stand and speak for themselves alone without the need for any explanation whether oral or written.

I think I have also achieved this goal. But I reckon it is because our concepts were more architectural and landscape material as opposed to what is expected of us as product designers.

3. To enhance my verbal communication skills. I have trouble pairing appropriate words with my thoughts to communicate my ideas to my colleagues. To achieve this, I will try even more to actively participate in the group. I find that if it is just a pair, it is fine for me, however within a group of more than two (with people in the class that I don’t know as well yet) I can still feel out of my skin at times and shy away from the spotlight. I acknowledge that to be an effective designer, you need your voice and a strong character to share ideas and insights. I will also strive to prepare rigorously for presentations beforehand.

I am proud of myself for this. I did prepare for the presentation beforehand, and I believe it has all paid off. My participation within the group was also immense. Everyone had equal participation and everyone had pulled their own weight and this is largely why the collaboration had gone so smoothly

4. To be even more thorough in the design process than I have been in the previous project. This ties back in to managing my time effectively. To be able to show how thorough I have been in a project, I would need to allow myself a decent amount of time to explain my every design decision thoroughly.

I would have achieved this goal better if I had worked alone. I like my work to be thorough and I would usually go out of my way to achieve something with disregard for the time that is available for me. But in the case of this collaborative project, I could not really do so, as the rigid structure required a fast pace. On saying this, however, as a group we have definitely and successfully covered all methodologies that were taught to us.

5. To further develop skills using Adobe software programmes  and possibly become more fluent in 3D CAD software programmes such as Rhino and/or Solidworks.

I was not in charge of the portfolio, therefore I was not exposed to any software programmes at all for this project. My participation had immensely been the coordination within the group, the organisation and planning, the research and the hands on practical work that went behind in the project. I will continue to work towards this goal though in the coming projects.

 

What can I say, there is always still room for improvement, and I definitely have plenty of room to accommodate it. I look forward to the new experiences that I will have in the next two years in this course.

 

Already, as a first year, I can see my growth as a designer has been great.

Reflection| Personal Goals

Leave a Reply

