SIV: One

It is overwhelming to stand point-blank at the halfway mark of my degree. It is the perfect time to reflect upon my learning progress; to revisit and renew goals so when I am to graduate, I will be happy of who I have become.

I aim to walk away from AUT with a degree in hand and new-found knowledge and experience, a wide set of skills, but most importantly I want to realize my identity as a designer.

The homegrown project has given me the opportunity to challenge myself to produce a product that I can be proud of. I am closer to understanding myself as a designer, and I am also getting better at producing a refined and well-informed solution. However, not being able to document the amount of work I have done have always brought my grades down.

Although, grades do not matter outside university and “C’s can still get me degrees” I cannot help but be disappointed with myself. I will strive to make the documentation part of the project receive as much focus as the practical work, if I am to avoid disappointing myself after each project.

I am quite glad that a rigid structure envelopes this project; that there are set milestones to get to the big picture. This will enable me to pay close attention to the time and not get behind as I will have due dates that I will strive to keep everything updated by.

“Just do it!” I think it is quite fitting that this project is entitled based on the infamous Nike slogan. It will serve as a good reminder throughout  the project to just get on with work. I tend to plan more than act. It is a bad habit that needs to go.

I am always excited upon receiving a new brief as it provides me a clean slate and another chance to improve and absorb new knowledge. Health and Well-being “Just do it!” will prove to be a new experience. It requires us to work with soft materials and sewing as a form of rapid prototyping. I have not used the sewing machine in a while, and all I really know to begin with are the basic techniques taught to us in fourth form.

I am also not familiar with either cycling or sailing etc., apart from riding my very first bike during my childhood. It is a while ago now and I have not cycled ever since. I do not own a bike and nor does my family own a boat. However, it will be much easier for me to get a hold of a bicycle to experience firsthand commuting via cycling, than getting a hold of a boat.

As the last project has been, this new one is proving to be another exciting challenge. Although I may not be familiar with textiles, sports and furthermore health and safety, one thing I do know and am keen of is that by the end of this project I will have new skills, new knowledge that will continue to build my identity as a designer.

My set goals for this semester has a lot to do with managing my time well and giving more focus to the documentation part of the project as well as producing concepts that I can be proud of and reflect my identity as a designer

1. Manage time effectively.
– Set myself milestones to work towards so that all work is always up to date.
– Ensure that these set goals and time schedule are met by checking them on a weekly basis.
– Ensure all work is up to date on a weekly basis by not moving on unless it is completed.

2. Pay more focus on project process portfolio to bring grades up.
– Update blog and process portfolio weekly in order to keep on top of the workload.
– Deliver the content visually and in a clear and concise manner

We were encouraged to set two goals for each of the six design process phases so that improvement across the whole scoreboard can be achieved.

INITIATE
– Set realistic milestone goals to help achieve what the big picture requires.
– Meet these set goals and time schedule by checking them on a weekly basis and ensure all work done in that week is complete.

INVESTIGATE
-Extract relevant information from raw research and communicate each in a visual and succinct manner.
– Conduct a thorough research to form a strong foundation for the creative exploration stages, and making sure to keep coming back to these findings to inform concept developments.

GENERATE
– Keep an open mind. Avoid shutting out ideas at an early stage.
– Employ methodologies to help extract all concepts, good or bad, before moving on.

IDEATE
– Explore more than one key concept to realize its full potential.
– Sketch concepts in three dimensional form; employ rapid prototyping methods to realize the macro and micro details at an early stage

EVALUATE
– Utilize methodologies from the design toolbox to formulate decisions as not to be biased.
– Revisit key research findings, insights and set specifications to weigh decisions

COMMUNICATE
– Pay more focus to the documentation of the process as it is what is being graded; deliver the content in a succinct and visual manner
– Allocate time to prepare fully for oral presentations. Deliver the content in a succinct and visual manner.

Leave a Reply

