Year III: Auckland Transport Project Week Three

Mission: AT Rail

20 days remaining, post Interim Presentation

Wednesday marked the end of the Ideate Phase. We presented our concept(s) thus far, and gained valuable insights and feedback from a panel of seven individuals.

On the presentation:

My interim proposal consisted of only one concept. Out of the three that I spoke about on Monday, this is the concept that really spoke to me (please click on the link below).

Auckland Transport Interim Presentation Meliza Deocales

The AT Panel received the idea well, praising the potential of the fitness aspect and especially the community aspect of the concept.

On moving forward:

I plan to really strip the concept back to its most raw form to build more ideas around making it better. My aim now is to solidify the concept.

As the community aspect of the concept seems to ring a common interest across the AT panel, I plan to explore it further. Giving users a sense of ownership and belonging to their station is an idea that can stand separately from the rest of the idea.

Constructive feedback also included, if stage one was to do with beating their own high score, this may encourage people to eventually run to beat their high score which may not be ideal in the case of those who are less abled or an elderly.  Perhaps to appeal to the less abled, and the elderly, points can be rewarded by how often you walk to the station in a week. Or a user can gain a set amount of points for walking there. AT would only reward the user a free trip if a point mark is hit eg., every 25th mark.

On the preparation behind the presentation:

My preparation for the presentation started much earlier than what has been the norm for me.

From the previous weekend I immersed myself in the details of my presentation, in both visual and verbal aspects. I made a promise to myself that this year will be better, and I intend to keep it.

The dry run of the presentations, conducted on Monday, helped me greatly. Implementing a two minute time limit really pushed me to critically identify the main points that convey my three concepts. This taught me to be mindful of my word choice in order to keep it short and succinct. Lecturer, Rob Mayo also gave us tips to really strip our speech back to convey only the essence of our concepts in a manner that will catch the attention of the panel. Keeping it nice and short also means there is more time for them to offer feedback and profound insights that will benefit us.

Due to this, I was encouraged to really map out my speech in order to be conscious of exactly what I wish to convey. I practiced the delivery countless times and though I did not end up using what I wrote word for word, I was able to retain the order in which I wanted to convey it.

A lot of thought also went behind how the visual and the verbal content relate and this dictated the flow of my speech.

I am both happy and proud of the outcome of my presentation. The only way to go is up. In future I will implement the same rigorous preparation for all presentations.

On the ideate phase:

While the Design Thinking toolbox suggests exercises under each phase, it does not necessarily mean that it will fit all types of briefs. Sketching gives an idea a form in which others are able to perceive your vision.

Though sketching is usually a very helpful exercise- it is quite opposite in this case due to the nature of the concepts, as they are mostly digital.  I presume sketching will be more helpful in the later phases where it is crucial to perfect every minute detail of the chosen concept.

 

Leave a Reply

